Watch: President Rodrigo Duterte Holds First Cabinet Meeting After Inauguration

President Rodrigo Duterte went to work right away and called for a cabinet meeting shortly after his inauguration on Thursday, June 30, 2016.

Duterte and his Cabinet were able to discuss important topics during their first 40-minute meeting held at the Aguinaldo State Dining Room.

His first instruction was given to Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade: Scrap the no-fly-zone policy at any airport where the president was taking a flight, because that would only delay other flights.

“Anyone of us, kung bigyan tayo ng priority to take off pasalamat tayo, but we should follow everyone’s travail. Pila tayo,” he said.

“Ayoko magpaimportante ng ganyan. We should treat ourselves just like any other Filipino traveling,” he added.


President Duterte recently completed the lineup of his Cabinet:

  • Cabinet Secretary – Leoncio “Jun” Evasco
  • Executive Secretary – Salvador Medialdea
  • Presidential Communications Operations Office Secretary – Martin Andanar
  • Presidential Spokesperson – Ernesto Abella
  • National Security Adviser – Hermogenes Esperon Jr.
  • Secretary of Agrarian Reform – Rafael V. Mariano
  • Secretary of Agriculture – Emmanuel “Manny” Piñol
  • Secretary of Budget and Management – Benjamin Diokno
  • Secretary of Education – Leonor Briones
  • Secretary of Energy – Alfonso Cusi
  • Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources – Regina “Gina” Lopez
  • Secretary of Finance – Carlos “Sonny” Dominguez III
  • Secretary of Foreign Affairs – Perfecto R. Yasay, Jr.
  • Secretary of Health – Paulyn Jean Rosell Ubial
  • Secretary of Information and Communications Technology – Rodolfo Salalima
  • Secretary of the Interior and Local Government – Ismael Sueño
  • Secretary of Justice – Vitaliano Aguirre II
  • Secretary of Labor and Employment – Silvestre “Bebot” Bello III
  • Secretary of National Defense – Delfin Lorenzana
  • Secretary of Public Works and Highways – Mark Villar
  • Secretary of Science and Technology – Fortunato de la Peña
  • Secretary of Social Welfare and Development – Judy Taguiwalo
  • Secretary of Tourism – Wanda Corazon Teo
  • Secretary of Trade and Industry – Ramon Lopez
  • Secretary of Transportation and Communications – Arthur Tugade
  • Presidential Assistant for the Visayas – Michael Diño
  • Special Assistant to the President/Presidential Management Staff chief – Christopher “Bong” Go

Related Articles: