Vigan Named One of the New 7 Wonders Cities of the World

Ilocos Sur capital Vigan has been chosen as one of the New 7 Wonders Cities of the world in an awarding ceremony held in Dubai last Sunday, December 7.


The winning wonder cities are the following:

Beirut, Lebanon
Doha, Qatar
Durban, South Africa
Havana, Cuba
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
La Paz, Bolivia
Vigan, Philippines

“We congratulate each of these cities on achieving their New7Wonders status, and we look forward to celebrating their election to the “canon of 7? with their citizens in 2015. The New7Wonders Cites will now join the New7Wonders of Nature and the New7Wonders of the World in becoming part of Global Memory for humanity for ever,” said Bernard Weber, the founder of the nongovernment organization New7Wonders.

In 1999, Vigan was named as a World Heritage Site by the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization for being the “best-preserved example of a planned Spanish colonial town in Asia.”