The 2012 Asian Awards List of Winners

Winners of the 6th Asian Film Awards were announced on Monday night. The event was held at the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Center on March 19.

Eugene Domingo with Hongkong star Andy Lau (Photo by AFA)

Two Filipinos, Eugene Domingo of “Ang Babae sa Septic Tank” and Shamaine Buencamino of “Nino” brought honors to the country.

People’s Choice Award for Favourite Actress and Best Supporting Actress, respectively, Domingo bested Vidya Balan of “The Dirty Picture” (India), Michelle Chen of “You Are the Apple of My Eye” (Taiwan), Leila Hatami of “Nadir and Samin: A Separation,” and Deanie Ip of “A Simple Life” (Hong Kong) for the citation.

Meanwhile, Buencamino succeeded over Gwen Lun-mei of “The Flying Swords of Dragon Gate” (Hong Kong/ Mainland China), Cris Horwang of “Headshot” (Thailand), Mitsushima Hikari of “Hara-Kiri: Death of a Samurai” (Japan), and Yan Ni of “11 Flowers” (Mainland China/France).

Check out the complete list of winners below.

Best Film: A Separation (Iran)

Best Director: Asghar Farhadi (A Separation – Iran)

Best Actor: Donny Damara (Lovely Man – Indonesia)

Best Actress: Deanie Ip (A Simple Life – Hong Kong)

Best Newcomer: Ni Ni (The Flowers of War – Mainland China)

Best Supporting Actor: Lawrence Ko (Jump! Ashin – Taiwan)

Best Supporting Actress: Shamaine Buencamino (Niño – The Philippines)

Best Screenwriter: Asghar Farhadi (A Separation – Iran)

Best Cinematographer: Jake Pollock, Lai Yiu-fai (Wu Xia – Mainland China/ Hong Kong)

Best Production Designer: Yee Chung-man, Sun Li (Wu Xia – Mainland China/ Hong Kong)

Best Composer: Chan Kwong-wing, Peter Kam, Chatchai Pongprapaphan (Wu Xia – Mainland China/ Hong Kong)

Best Editor: Hayedeh Safiyari (A Separation – Iran)

Best Visual Effects: Wook Kim, Josh Cole, Frankie Chung (The Flying Swords of Dragon Gate – Hong Kong/Mainland China)

Best Costume Designer: Yee Chung-man, Lai Hsuan-wu (The Flying Swords of Dragon Gate – Hong Kong/Mainland Chia)

The Edward Yang New Talent Award: Edwin (Indonesia)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Ann Hui (Hong Kong)

* Favorite Actress : Eugene Domingo for “Ang Babae sa Septic Tank” (Philippines)

* Favorite Actor : Andy Lau for “A Simple Life (Hongkong)

The favorite actor and actress were supported by online voting.

Congratulations to all the winners!