Malacanang has released Proclamation 295, the list of official regular, special (non-working) and special holidays for the year 2012 in the Philippines.

According to the Official Gazette, the first special non-working holiday will be on January 23 (Monday) for the celebration of Chinese New Year.

“Chinese nationals all over the world will celebrate Spring Festival, popularly known as the Chinese New Year, which is one of the most revered and festive events celebrated not only in China but also in the Philippines by both Chinese Filipinos and ordinary Filipinos as well; and the joint celebration is a manifestation of our solidarity with our Chinese Filipino brethren who have been part of our lives in many respects as a country and as a people; 23 January 2012 may be declared as a special (non-working) day without detriment to public interest.”

As announced, the following regular, special (non-working) and special holidays for the year 2012 shall be observed.

  • January 1 (Sunday) – New Year’s Day
  • January 23 (Monday) – Chinese New Year
  • February 25 (Saturday) – EDSA Revolution Anniversary
  • April 5 (Thursday) – Maundy Thursday
  • April 6 (Friday) – Good Friday
  • April 9 (Monday) – Araw ng Kagitingan
  • May 1 (Tuesday) – Labor Day
  • June 12 (Tuesday) – Independence Day
  • August 21 (Tuesday) – Ninoy Aquino Day
  • August 27 (Monday) – National Heroes Day
  • November 1 (Thursday) – All Saints Day
  • November 2 (Friday) – Additional special (non-working) day
  • November 30 (Friday) – Bonifacio Day
  • December 25 (Tuesday) – Christmas Day
  • December 30 (Sunday) – Rizal Day
  • December 31 (Monday) – Last Day of the Year